Danko Jones has announced a April 21 U.S. release date for FIRE MUSIC via Bad Taste Records/MRI.  The new album is loaded with some of the most incendiary, fierce, and downright pissed-off songs the band has ever committed to tape.  In the past, Danko Jones’ repertoire has frequently exhibited a physical and emotional release for those times when love is unkind, but with these songs the trio exhibits what happens when therapy doesn’t work. Song to song, the listener experiences Danko’s pent-up agitation that has been left to stew, getting expelled into pure, merciless, violent rock ‘n’ roll fury.  The repertoire unleashes a torrent of Misfits-worthy shout along hooks, as Jones crosses into a realm where whatever belief he ever had in love and romance has disintegrated into the darkest depths of a blackened soul.  In late-2014, the band issued a first taste sharing a clip for “Gonna Be A Fight Tonight” shot on the Motorhead cruise and at the Grona Lund amusement park performance in Stockholm: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e04SBHtbfl4.
Danko Jones’ composition “Gonna Be A Fight Tonight” has been selected as the official theme song for WWE’s Royal Rumble Pay-Per-View Event, taking place on January 25, 2015 at Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, PA. One of WWE’s pinnacle annual events, this year it is especially buzzing in anticipation of its main event ”Triple Threat Match” featuring WWE Heavyweight Champion Brock Lesnar versus John Cena versus Seth Rollins. The song was featured earlier this week in WWE programming that included RAW (USA Network), and Main Event (WWE Network), on Thursday evening, the track will be integrated in to broadcasts of SmackDown (8PM EST / SyFy), NXT (9PM EST / WWE Network), and Superstars (10PM EST / WWE Network).  Additionally, “Gonna Be A Fight Tonight” has been heavily integrating in to promotional programming across WWE TV and all on-line properties.
With the new album, co-founders Danko Jones and John “JC” Calabrese welcome new drummer Rich Knox, formerly of southern fried Toronto rockers Flash Lightning.  FIRE MUSIC was produced and mixed by Juno Award winning producer Eric Ratz (Billy Talent, Monster Truck, Metric), and the cover / packaging was designed by Grammy Award winner Gail Marowitz.  The complete track listing for FIRE MUSIC is:
“Wild Woman,” “The Twisting Knife,” “Gonna Be A Fight Tonight,” “Body Bags,” “Live Forever,” “Do You Wanna Rock,” “Getting Into Drugs,” “Watch You Slide,” “I Will Break Your Heart,” “Piranha,” “She Ain’t Coming Home.”
Danko Jones has already begun touring in front of the upcoming release.  Following a headline appearance on a Radio Rock Cruise in Helsinki on 1/31, the band will spend February and March touring Europe, and then begin a Canadian tour on 4/09 in Winnipeg.  U.S. dates will be announced in the coming weeks, which will be staged prior to the band’s return to Europe for Summer festival appearances.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s