Clawing their way out from the clay with a renewed purpose informed by lessons of life and the road, unwilling to lay in peace; WORMWITCH have today announced their upcoming third album, Wolf Hex – due for release on August 27 via Prosthetic Records. Abracadabra will be available on all streaming services on Friday, June 11.

Pre-order Wolf Hex here.

Of Abracadabra and the album announcement, the band comments: “We’re excited to finally unleash Abracadabra, the first single from our upcoming record. As the title implies, this song is about creating as you speak; manifesting reality as you traverse the challenges of life. This is one of the first songs we wrote for the new album, a unanimous favourite.”

Stacked full of grandiose melody, tempered by true organic heavy metal anthems, Wolf Hex is a modern occult, future classic. Distinctly Canadian, distinctly diabolical, and distinctly WORMWITCH; the album traverses folk, wades through black metal and embraces the fantastical whilst staying absolutely true to themselves throughout.

Recorded in their own studio in Vancouver, Wolf Hex was engineered by Tim Creviston and the band themselves, before being mastered by Brad Boatright. The ten track album seethes with visceral blackened death metal delivered at a relentless pace, conjuring mysticism and magick at every turn.

WORMWITCH has been – from its inception – a vehicle towards personal freedom. The artwork for Wolf Hex – created by vocalist, Robin Harris, – includes an inverted fleur de lis representing their anti-authority, anti-state, and anti-religion stance. Started unceremoniously from the remains of a hardcore punk band that mostly centered around themes of self hate and existential despair, WORMWITCH have relentlessly cut the fat, searching for a sound and dowsing for enlightenment.

After touring North America with the likes of Suffocation, Necrot, Midnight, Bat, Cloak, and Uada, WORMWITCH retreated into the shadows. The time out allowed for a metamorphosis of sorts, the band emerging into a changed landscape in 2021 are themselves fundamentally altered.

No mercy, ride or die, WORMWITCH will evolve forever.

Wolf Hex tracklisting:
1. Lunar Maniac
2. Canadian Denim Mountain Attack
3. The Wolves of Ossory
4. Hammer of the Underworld
5. The Crimson Proof
6. Abracadabra
7. Leering Crystal Effigies
8. Grail
9. Teeth of the Dawn
10. Hit the Lights

Colby Hink – Guitar
Kyle Tavares – Guitar
Robin Harris – Vocals and Bass
Izzy Langlais – Drums


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s