Photographer credit: Kiran Acharya

Irish thrashers, GAMA BOMB are premiering their new single, Thunder Over London, and it’s accompanying music video via YouTube. Thunder Over London is the title track from their surprise release three-song digital EP, out now, and sees the band pivot back to their more political roots as they rally against nuclear arms. The music video alternates between the band performing, with beloved band mascot Snowy on drums, and key statistics and thought provoking information on nuclear weapons.

Speaking on the surprise EP release, Philly Byrne (vocals) comments: “This EP was born out of the sessions for our last album Sea Savage – two of the tracks were meant for the album but had their own vibe, so felt better somewhere else; the last track we couldn’t find a lyric idea for – maybe I was burnt out – but it later became Thunder Over London.”

On the title track, Philly adds: “It’s a song about the waste and evil of nuclear weapons, talking about the history of punishing your enemy’s civilians with aerial bombing, leading us to a world where thousands of nukes are ready to launch any second, but nobody writes songs about it any more. We want people to wake up and get angry about that.”

Having unfortunately cancelled a September run alongside Exhorder due to coronavirus concerns, this November GAMA BOMB will be heading out on an eight day headlining tour in UK / Ireland. The tour will get underway on November 6, with GAMA BOMB performing at Damnation Festival, and run until November 13. The headlining shows, alongside support from Shrapnel, will serve as their first set of UK and Ireland live shows since the release of their latest album, Sea Savage, in December 2020.

GAMA BOMB November tour dates (w/ Shrapnel)6 November – Damnation Festival, Leeds*
7 November – The Underworld, London
8 November – The Brickmakers, Norwich
9 November – Star & Garter, Manchester
10 November – Asylum 2, Birmingham
11 November – Classic Grand, Glasgow
12 November – Limelight 2, Belfast
13 November – Voodoo Lounge, Dublin


Thunder Over London tracklist:

1. Thunder Over London
2. Reveal The Shrieking Skulls
3. Shut Up and Shout

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s