URFERD Releases Debut Album ‘Resan’ – Out Now via Black Lodge Records

Urferd‘s debut album, Resan, has arrived – dark ambient folk music at its very best. Fans will embark on an eight-track long journey through dark and olden nordic forests. The album is released together with a brand new music video for the track “Hemfärd”.

Daniel Beckman comments on the video track, “Hemfärd”:
“We are approaching the end of the album, and it is time to commence the homeward journey. The second to last song of the album, HEMFÄRD, depicts the long and winding way back to hearth and home; the final toiling journey to safety and warmth. There is a sense of relief and hope, but also an enveloping mournfulness over lives lost and hardships endured. The song illustrates an approaching solace and a longing for peace and rest.”

A concept waiting years to emerge, URFERD officially saw the light of day in late 2020.

The first album, ‘RESAN’, will be released on Black Lodge Records in 2022, and is a musical odyssey in both a literal and figurative sense. The album takes the listener on a journey through dark and olden nordic forests; where strife and hardships follow in our steps, yet where the beauty and vastness of the solemn nordic landscape persists and permeates. From the album opening’s depiction of a serene morning’s dawn, to the closing track’s respite of a hearth at nightfall, RESAN traverses a multitude of captivating musical landscapes and themes throughout its eight songs. URFERD signifies the beginning of a new and additional musical chapter for its founder and sole member, Daniel Beckman (TWILIGHT FORCE, AGES), and brings a refreshing new perspective to the genre, challenging the boundaries of dark atmospheric folk music.

‘Resan’ is out now on streaming platforms and available on CD and LP.
FFO: Wardruna, Heilung, Forndom, Myrkur, Garmarna, Loreena McKennitt

‘Resan’ Tracklist
01. Gryning
02. Avfärd
03. Strövtåg
04. Hymn
05. Envig
06. Vaka
07. Hemfärd
08. Dvala

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s